New Step 6 League


The National League System structural review took another stride forward this week as the FA’s Leagues Committee formally ratified the decision to award the ownership and control to the two new Step 6 divisions which launch from next season.

A new division in the North West area of the Country will be managed by the North West Counties League and the Essex/East Anglian area division will come under the Eastern Counties banner. Work between the FA and the leagues will continue over the coming months in order to determine membership within the divisions.

The North West Counties are expected to operate with North and South divisions whilst the Eastern Counties offer, as part of a joint venture with the Essex Senior League, includes the introduction of Senior League officials to their Management Committee structure.

Ray Lewis, FA League Committee Chair, said: “Both of the applications that were ratified on Tuesday (3 October) were very thorough and of a high standard. The Leagues Committee decided to implement a similar process as to the one utilised for the new Step 3 & 4 divisions, as this had previously served us well. The need for an extra division in the North West was apparent due to the amount of Step 7 leagues in the area and for the Essex area not to have a Step 6 division was also a long-term concern of the Committee.”