Season 1966-67

Last updated: February 19th, 2016.

Final League Table & Cup Final Result

The Inaugural Season

The Essex Olympian Football League, as it was then known, was formed in 1966, at a meeting in the Saracens Head Public House Chelmsford, and, as the then President John W. Coward wrote in his forward to the first handbook, “This new League opens up the field of competition to teams from the Mid-Essex, Harlow and District, Southend and District and Parthenon Leagues.”

The Headquarters of the League were at “The Stadium” New Writtle Street, Chelmsford, the home of Chelmsford City Football Club.

Of the original thirteen clubs, Bishops Stortford Swifts, and Old Chelmsfordians are still with the League. It should also be noted that two of the founding Officers are also still with the League.

The remaining founder member clubs were, Basildon and Pitsea, Billericay Town, Bowers United, Burnham Ramblers, Collier Row, Dorstel Press, Dunmow, Little Waltham and Sawbridgeworth.

Burnham Ramblers were the first League winners with Little Waltham finishing as runners-up.

Writtle made up for their poor league form by reaching the final of the League Cup, but were beaten by Bishops Stortford Swifts.

The League played its first representative match against an Epping Town XI and came away with a 2 – 1 victory.

Final League Table

Burnham Ramblers 241932733041
Little Waltham241653643037
Bishops Stortford Swifts241338565229
Collier Row 2411211534324
Essex Police2411211596624
Bowers United249510626023
Billericay Town248511364221
Old Chelmsfordians249312426021
Basildon & Pitsea249213535020
Dorstel Press248412434920

League Cup Final

Bishops Stortford SwiftsvWrittleBishops Stortford Swifts Won